top of page

Findings From The Underground. Volume II.



Seeing the amount of quality releases that are coming practically every week, expect more of these as we move forward. Today's line up is expectedly diverse but I wanted to increase the spice levels a bit so expect some really wonky shiz. Without further ado, let's leave these introductory realms and get right in the thick of it!

 


Some of you may remember Kaatayra, a Brazilian one man band responsible for releasing not one but two wonderful albums last year. The more recent, Toda História Pela Frente was my introduction to Caio Lamos' work and let me tell you, if you hold any affection towards black metal, especially the more spacious type, it's a must listen. Now, the relevancy of this stems from the simple fact that Lamos is responsible for one of the most creative black metal albums I've heard and one I'll about to showcase. The project is called Bríi and the record in question Sem Propósito. I won't lie, I had no idea of this connection until I started researching but it makes complete sense.

The vast, inviting atmosphere, sharp and melodic guitar work, the "washy" synths, these are some of the things that will feel familiar if you're acquainted with his work but and this is a big one, you're not prepared for this. You see, in its core Sem Propósito is a black metal record, not from a sonic perspective mind you but from a thematic one.


By this I mean there is this primordial and creative spirit dominating the soundscape, you know, like the genre started out as, a rebellious statement that went against the norms whilst retaining that romantic mindset. The trick with this record is that we have long periods of electronic music, more specifically minimal techno and trance. Think Boris Brejcha, Mesarthim and... I dunno, Oranssi Pazuzu kinda? It's difficult to pin down but that's great, not as great as the album itself but yeah, it's really wild and I really, really like it. Don't believe me? Just watch (listen). I feel no shame with that reference. This is something really special and its importance will become more apparent with the passage of time, I am sure of it.



 


Moving on we reach another favorite of mine, Meer's amazing, nay, stupendous Playing House. And before I start raving about, I am aware that I sound like a broken record but I cannot emphasize how brilliant 2021 has been music wise. I truly dread December and list season. Anyhow, allow me to attempt and portray the greatness that are Meer. From the opening piano-led beats of "Picking Up The Pieces" you'll notice how lushly layered everything sounds. That's an achievement considering Meer are eight people strong and even more so when we actually take a look what's happening.

To be generic and boring in my approach, think of them like a Nordic Bent Knee. Ugh I feel like that's such a disservice to the band because apart from Bent Knee, Pain Of Salvation and maybe Madder Mortem, I struggle coming up with any additional names and if you have been reading this - that's a damn great sign.



What's this nOrDiC label about though? Honestly, I see a big opportunity to be very pretentious and compare things to fjords, Norwegian sea (which they're not close to as far as I am aware) or god forbid melancholia because no one has ever done that before right? Nay (love that word), I'll instead leave "Beehive" above which should be playing as you read this and continue on. The urge to turn this into a full fledged review of just this is quite strong and I believe this messy and chaotic blob of letters shows that I am indeed fulfilling my promise of raving about which coincides with my love for this absolutely masterful gem of an album.

 


And now we reach the spiciest part of this edition - the insanely special R.A.P. Ferreira. I won't lie, this last month and a half saw me exploring trap and rap like never before and it's because of rappers such as him that showed me the potential of this vast genre. Granted, the whole scene is saturated with bland mediocrity but with the power of what people call the Internet, I found out some amazing stuff, more on that later. What matters right now is bob's son: R.A.P. Ferreira in the garden level of the scallops hotel. You have no idea how badly I wanted to capitalize those letters but I respect this man so much that I shall leave it as intended... where was I? Oh right, the record in front of you silly!

For the uninitiated, which I hope is most of you, R.A.P. Ferreira is a new moniker for Ferreira which sees him expand into increasingly poetry-like waters, waters that started emerging during his later Milo releases. Of course, jazz, soul, creative sampling and organic production play a big role in setting the mood but unlike his breakthrough banger purple moonlight pages, words and sounds move even more freely on bob's son. For me it evoked a feeling of warmth and laid-backness let's call it but do not let that distract you from Ferreira and his razor-sharp and idiosyncratic rhyming approach.



"listening" is a great example of what you can expect here but it still fails to paint the entire picture. I won't lie, this is a very strange record and probably not the easiest place to start with Ferreira but it I can't help but feel like it wonderfully portrays him and what he represents. Call it pretentious, call it weird, call it genius, at the end of the day labels don't matter, what matters is that stuff like this exists. Like Bob Kaufman who served as a main inspiration for this record, it's the lesser known (or unsung) heroes that move art forwards and for my two cents, there's no one like Ferreira but himself and that's unbelievably rare these days.

 


Even after multiple revisits of Ψυχική Αποσύνθεση (Psychiki Aposynthesi), I still have no clue why this duo decided to call themselves Kvadrat seeing as it literally means square in Croatian, amongst other similar Slavic languages. I'll tell you what though, like the aforementioned geometrical shape, the riffs are just as sharp and easy to remember. We all know how many death and black metal bands are on that dissonant train but only the greatest are leading the way and I am of an opinion that these Greeks have that potential. For an opening statement, Ψυχική Αποσύνθεση is above and beyond what I've gotten used to and I am very glad for it. It's confident, fluid and suffocating with melodies that refuse to move out of my prefrontal cortex. Case in point, this.



I LOVE how no time is wasted and you're thrusted in this bleak, ashen-filled valley where your exhales echo, especially when given the opportunity to rest, which happens. Not for long though as you end up being sucked up even deeper. Absolutely gorgeous stuff with a sense of drama and urgency that only the finest bands are able to evoke. The future is bleak (read bright) for Kvadrat and I would suggest that you witness them rising now rather than in a few years. Don't say I didn't warn you!



Damn these are fun to make but as I said, more drafts await, too many in fact so I have no idea what I'll tackle next. Actually scratch that, I know what I must do next. With luck it won't take me too long but yeah, good things are in store but until then, I hope these first few posts won't be as mediocre as I perceive they'll be. Onwards!

 

Sem Propósito was released independently on March 15th, Playing House through Karisma Records on January 29th, bob's son: R.A.P. Ferreira in the garden level of the scallops hotel through Ruby Yacht on January 1st and Ψυχική Αποσύνθεση through Total Dissonance Worship on June 4th of 2021.

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page