top of page

Into The Vaults: Paramore's After Laughter featuring Sleeping Village Reviews



There comes a time when thicc riffs ain’t gonna cut it. Sometimes, a masculine urge appears and guides one towards... high quality pop. Don't you give me that look! I know you have that one special pop album you can always go back to. I do and would you know it, the head scribe of Sleeping Village Reviews has it. And by sheer chance it happens to be the exact same one, Paramore's After Laughter. After asking him to join me in celebrating its fifth birthday he simply gave a staunch, measured yet excited "Sign me up.". Magic was imminent and after missing the exact date, I decided to post this an exact month later. Behold the result of our efforts!

 

Loveloth: A lot and I mean A LOT has changed since we last crossed paths in the virtual... let’s call it scribe space. How you doin’ chief?


Sleeping Village Reviews: I’m doing quite well! Glad to be back in the fold, particularly when the album in question is one such as this. It's an oddball in the context of our mutual taste.


Loveloth: Love to hear it. Yep it sure is! By now most will have noticed the title so let’s set the stage. Every great story has a beginning so let’s see where your Paramore journey started if you would be so kind!


Sleeping Village Reviews: Honestly, my experience with Paramore basically starts and ends with this album. I remember “Hard Times” popping up on shuffle randomly, and at that moment I moved over and listened to the album in full. For whatever reason though, I’ve never had much interest in trying anything else in their discography beyond a cursory listen. After Laughter really sits in a moment in time for me, and stepping outside of this album might ruin the magic. How about you?


Loveloth: OK that’s honestly brilliant because you’re pretty much the first person I know that hasn’t got a nostalgic connection with them or hasn’t “fallen out” with due to their sound change. I, like many, swam in deep oceans of angst and confusion during my formative teen years and somehow, amidst the likes of System Of A Down, Disturbed, Metallica, Bullet For My Valentine and similarly stunning bands, Paramore entered the fold. I think the album Riot! was my starting point. The echoes of unrequited love, extremely memorable choruses, smexy hooks and, as I deemed them, “hard” sections (read heavier pop punk) all resonated extremely well with yours truly.

Their debut, Riot! and Brand New Eyes were in regular rotation while I gamed or walked to school.

And then a few years later the controversial self-titled came out and while I wasn’t completely on board with it, certain songs were impossible to put down such as “Still Into You” and “Ain’t It Fun”. Eventually though, I grew out of the “emo” (insert real emo copypasta here) phase so I left them behind.

UNTIL I randomly stumbled upon “Hard Times” on YouTube three years ago and checked it out from sheer curiosity.

This is your average Paramore story minus the Twilight soundtrack angle and complete rejection of self-titled because it was too “poppy”.

Funny how that works eh considering After Laughter.

After (winks) this long-winded answer, I am interested in what captured your attention first as a band's newcomer?


Feel old? Here have a picture of Paramore from 2007!

Sleeping Village Reviews: In response to your story, I really do like being able to enjoy the album without the context of angst or controversy, it’s like if someone happens to enjoy Return of the Jedi without knowing anything else about the Star Wars universe at large. Just a little pocket of something much larger.


The first thing that really captured my attention was the catchy songwriting. The emphasis on vocal hooks that travel around your brain for months on end is a characteristic that is obviously going to make individual songs memorable. Moreso, though, I quickly grew an appreciation for the album’s ability to articulate weird emotions that we don’t really have a name for. It’s a happy album when taking many of the songs out of context, but when you dive into the lyrics and see the album as a larger picture, a creeping somberness and melancholy becomes the lens through which that happiness is viewed. Not many artists have been able to capture that weird space between joy and sadness, which is I guess where the album title comes in.


Loveloth: First off, I had no idea about the Return Of The Jedi thing which is not only cool in my eyes but also extremely funny. I used to be a Star Wars fanatic which is a result of another complicated, long-winded story that includes stylistic shifts, torn fanbase and presence in pop culture. Never though Paramore and Star Wars would have so many connections and here you are enjoying them completely free of that pesky context and drama.


And you’re spot on, they always walked this strange line between joy and melancholy but not nearly as much as here, the overused word maturity comes to mind but considering Hayley entered the band when she was 16 years old, there really is no other word that paints their journey. Granted, they were angrier before but there were always a couple of tracks with great introspective lyrics that countered the angst. This is one of the many reasons why they are such a beloved band but I would be lying if I said that they are for everyone.

The very obvious pop punk influence of yore does not sit well with many, especially extreme metal fans such as both of us.


As mentioned above, “Hard Times” was my introduction to this new new Paramore two years after the album was released and initially I was confused. Think I said to myself something along the lines of: “Oh shit they went full pop mode.”

Yet that confusion could not stop my head from bobbing and of course my eyes carefully following Hayley’s movements in the music video. That may sound creepy but she has been a “celeb crush” of mine since I was about 13 which was… 13 years ago (Jesus) and this status will be held for many years to come. “Still Into You” anyone?

Damn, I knew there was a distinct chance that I would ramble on about my history with them but considering your lack of it, I think we strike a really cool balance.


And now for something else I am interested in, how did you find the instrumentation?



Sleeping Village Reviews: Every time I listen, I’m always really astounded by how inconsistent the instrumentation is–not in terms of quality per se, but more in terms of general vibe. You’ve got the glittery synth pop that feels like it serves as the foundation, but the number of times that formula is discarded is honestly pretty wild. “No Friend” has that sickly post-noise rock (?) thing going on, and “Tell Me How” sits in its own little world with the piano backing. “Pool” has that polished dancefloor-ready new wave aesthetic nailed down. “Told You So” is funkier than anything else in its vicinity. Each track brings something a little new.


I think when talking about Paramore, it’s easy to put Hayley in the limelight, but I really do think that her presence is a centered constant, while the instrumentation and general atmosphere moves around her.


My favourite tracks are definitely the more upbeat ones, simply because those are the songs that stick in my head long after the fact. (On that note, definitely curious as to your favourite tracks).


Loveloth: Interesting how you mention “No Friend” which is the only track without Hayley on vocals in the band’s history. Rather it features Aaron Weiss from mewithoutYou (cool band) basically rambling while Taylor York plays darker inversions of the “Idle Worship” riff which is the song that predates it. They never did anything like that but that could be said about most of After Laughter.

You could say how it’s their most lighthearted sounding album due to all the funk, disco, new wave, ska and other influences but you would also miss how carefully crafted it really is. For me this is without a doubt their most complex work to date. The power chord spam has turned into surprisingly intricate chord changes assisted by playful bass lines and cymbal-heavy drumming. It’s fun as hell to listen to while being deceptively tricky to play... I think, maybe haha.


As for my favourites, the aforementioned “Told You So” springs to mind with its juicy bass and almost math rock-like guitar lines in the super catchy chorus.

Another hood classic is “Forgiveness” with the best line on the album… probably. “Forgiving is not forgetting.” Ooof, that bears so much more weight now as an “adult” rather than as a kid. The parenthesis are for me of course as I would not dare question thine manliness hahaha.



But yes, there are more, much more tracks I adore in fact so I wonder, what songs are you not that fond of? “No Friend”, as much as it’s cool, doesn’t do that much for me and “Tell Me How” feels like it retreads old ground. A shame considering how it closes out the record and represents a lyrical milestone in the story, or rather stories “After Laughter” represents.


Sleeping Village Reviews: The three song stretch including “Forgiveness,” “Fake Happy,” and “26” always feels like a bit of a lull in the framework of the album. Once I get to those tracks I don’t skip ‘em, but I’m excited for when things pump back up with “Pool.” Because I appreciate so much the “sad-but-it-sounds-happy!” approach, “Forgiveness” feels a little too heavy for my taste, and “Fake Happy” is a little too on-the-nose from a lyrical perspective. “26” just doesn’t catch attention in the way that other tracks do. But! All that said, I don’t think the album would be better off without those tracks, they are an important part of the overall puzzle.


I actually reeeeeallly like “No Friend,” but it took a while to get there. The sheer oddity of a song that doesn’t really fit sonically, sung by a vocalist who is adjacent in the scene but not directly related, is just such a strange choice. But it’s very endearing, and the song is just kinda good as a standalone anyways. I feel very similar to you about “Tell Me How,” if anything I think it would have been better placed in the midst of the three aforementioned tracks that feel slower, just for sake of consistency. It’s a weird closer for sure.


My absolute favourite track, on the other hand, is “Idle Worship.” “Hard Times” has that irresistible catchiness, but “Idle Worship” features the best range when it comes to Hayley’s emotive vocal delivery. “I know that you’re afraid to / Let all that darkness escape you” is such a standout line. And that chorus when you arrive at the back half is such a bop.



Loveloth: Ho ho! Another divergence, always glad to see ‘em! I love that three streak of songs, “26” in particular recently as I turned 26 in April and the whole “Hold on to hope, if you got it” part which matches the transition into work-centric lifestyle that terrifies me.

I will admit though, “Fake Happy” is indeed a bit too on-the-nose and the “lo-fi” intro feels clumsy but I still find myself humming ALL the lyrics. “Pool” is a weird one for me because I sometimes forget how it sounds but immediately recognize it when it starts to play. We’re talking fractions of a second here haha. That being said, love it, such a bop, so well-layered too. Discovering new textures to this day. The guitar tone in the chorus and the mini synth “exchange” before the second verse being the newest ones.


I can totally get you regarding “No Friend”, it’s an endearing oddity and even though I skip it the most, I discovered some really cool things on it recently as I was preparing for this write up.

Lyrically though, it’s pretty wild which poses a question, what are your takeaways from After Laughter in that department and which lyrics resonated the most with you? I mentioned “26” and “Forgiveness” but “Grudges” is also great because it directly references the relationship between Hayley and Zac Farro in a very cool way. For context, Zac and his brother Josh played on the first two albums before departing and only Zac came back after seven years later.


Drip levels here are off the charts!

Sleeping Village Reviews: Yeah, I do enjoy “Grudges” for the reconciliation and rebuilding theme, you mentioned “maturity” before and I think this track demonstrates that, it doesn’t feel like a typical pop-punk/indie rock narrative. Lyrically, I have always liked “Hard Times” for the way it tackles the reality of depression–the song has always felt pretty clever in the way it presents a negative mental state alongside the most overtly forced-happy instrumentation of all time. Sadness isn’t linear, depression isn’t a constant. The lyrics are far from complex but there’s something very nice about seeing a difficult topic laid out so plainly. I identify a lot with that song.


I also like how After Laughter has the band contemplating their own role in the thick of it, especially given the apparent drama. I assume questions of Hayley’s solo career, inevitable band breakup, etc. were pretty significant thoughts at the time, and that line about falling from the pedestal on “Idle Worship” hits pretty hard in that context. “What if I fall on my face?” What if, indeed.


Something I’m curious about: how does this album stack up to other Paramore work for you? Obviously for me it’s their best, but that’s not saying much. I feel like this album isn’t exactly as fondly thought among the fanbase as I would assume based on my own narrow exposure.


Loveloth: Exactly! They’re not complex but approach very universal things in a way that’s relatable but also quite unique. Hayley never shied away from tackling “heavier” themes, like the reality of growing up and the very present depression which inflicts more and more people every year.

However, After Laughter commits and excels. For the reasons you mentioned but also because of a big breakup Hayley went through. Think that set everything off in a way it did. But unlike on their first three albums, there is a voice of reason and acceptance here. I can’t imagine growing up by touring, playing music that promotes being heartbroken and an “outcast” like pop punk does but as decades passed we and most importantly Hayley herself see the growth.

That is something only a handful artists portray, Devin Townsend comes to mind because of course he does haha. At the end of the day art is inherently selfish and I am glad some presented themselves completely open for millions of potential ears. That takes big guts and lots and lots of thought.


Very glad you asked what my favourite is because it’s… this! A somewhat hot take I feel but being someone who kinda "grew up" with the band, as well as them with “us”, I think that is very cool and fitting pick. After all, my penchant for what I have perceived as heavy music back then led me to Paramore and now, thirteen years later and with an even bigger (and this time much more legitimate) penchant for heavy music, I think my choice reflects the quality.

Maybe tooting my own horn here but making really, really good pop music is extremely underestimated and misunderstood in our circles where riffs and brutality reign.


With all this said, do you have a need to go back through their catalogue? Because I reckon you would absolutely love some tracks.


I promise I'm totally not swooning rn because of Hayley here.

Sleeping Village Reviews: Yeah, I do. Of course I’ve heard the hits out of context on the radio or whatever, but it is probably time to do a full discography sweep. I’ve really enjoyed digging deep into this album over the course of the past few days (yesterday I listened like five times all the way through and it is fully intertwined with my psyche, if I start randomly singing “Rose Colored Boy” one more time today in my out-of-tune fashion I’m fairly certain my wife will kill me) and I suspect seeing it with a more full knowledge of their body of work would be mildly interesting at the very least, and that’s enough for me.


Speaking of interesting, I do like (and find it strange) that we randomly bonded over this album a few years back, but we enjoy it for different reasons, and are drawn to very different aspects of the instrumentation, etc. I suppose that should serve as proof that After Laughter has a multifaceted appeal.


Loveloth: Excellent! I would recommend you do that in reverse chronological order so you see the full trajectory. Self-titled, then Brand New Eyes and so forth.

And me too man! Last few days I’ve been going through those motions as well which means a lot of singing, shouting even whilst on my bike. Don’t have a wife to speak of BUT a decent amount of individuals heard (and saw) me going completely going ham hahaha. That means singing, air drumming, air guitaring, the whole package hahaha.


I am still a bit mad on myself because I missed the exact date of its anniversary but at the end of the day, the point was to tackle this together which we now did hehe. And like you said, we bonded even more via After Laughter and for that alone its value is big, let alone the quality we both attested too in hopefully a concise and fun matter. ISN’T THAT RIGHT DEAR READER? ARE YOU NOT ENTERTAINED?

But yeah, had decently high expectations from this collaboration, seeing how long it has been since I wrote something for the Village and I am glad to say it surpassed them.

And yes this means we’re entering the final section of this write up. Any final thoughts after that burst of wholesomeness? I promise I wasn’t like totally listening to melancholic Paramore right now hehehe.


Sleeping Village Reviews: Damn, I just like this album a whole lot, and I hope this inspires a few people to revisit it or check it out for the first time, if they were too cool for popular music at the time of release.


This was fun! A unique take on the review-writin’ experience, and I’m please to see that the expected Devin reference made it in. We should do another at some point, there’s a lot of assorted albums that we have common ground on across a variety of perhaps unexpected genres. Denzel Curry, anyone?


Loveloth: You heard him you! Check this out or I dunno, something will happen that is not immediately threatening to any aspect of your livelihood. And it is a unique way indeed which means I have to shout out Unstille Magazine as he "created" and named it. Hope you doin' well Matt!

But yes, I am absolutely down for a hypothetical, for the sake of the argument Denzel Curry double team… wait that sounded wrong. This is why a proper name for this format is due!

Anyways, this was an absolute pleasure and I look forward to the next iteration.

And who knows, maybe I could do a write up on SVR down the line, for good ole times sake . After all, it was you and the boys who brought me up to this stage and for that, among the virtual but totally legit friendships we created, is something I will always be thankful for. BOOM, another burst of wholesomeness, sorry not sorry hehehe.


Sleeping Village Reviews: Always happy to have ye (and your wholesomeness!) Thanks for this, it was super enjoyable.


 

After Laughter was released through Fueled By Ramen on May 12th of 2017.


For more visit their:


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page