top of page

When in Romania: Review of Dordeduh's Har



I feel no shame for that pun, just wanted to point that out. Anyhow, Romania is somewhat of a mystery to most of us Slavs. Their language is weird, Transylvania is a thing, Nicolae Ceaușescu, luckily, WAS a thing, their internet infrastructure is Poggers and their Parliament building is pure insanity. That's about it really... you already know where this is headed so I'll skip the obligatory intro thing by doing a different intro thing which is just jumping right in and discuss the importance of Dordeduh and the amazing Har. Its importance lies in the quality for sure but also due to the fact that Har is pretty much my introduction to Romanian metal as I did not know of Negura Bundet prior which contained most of Dordeduh's members. Needless to say I was floored with Har first time around and in order to see if the surprise element was blinding me, I sat with it and would you know it, it's just that good. But why is that, what is this quartet doing that caught me off guard so much? Glad you asked because we've reached a point where one would list a bunch of bands that sound similar to the subject and attempt to describe them in a concise or generic fashion.


There is this... let's call it veil surrounding Har and one of archaic quality. That aspect is present due to strong folk influences and spiritual undertones. What makes this interesting for you and me is that this type of folk is native to Romania and by utilizing their traditional instruments such as the alphorn bucium and semantrom as well as less "exotic" stuff like the hammered dulcimer, mandola and your traditional metal instruments. The manner in which all this comes together sets Har apart and that becomes apparent very quickly. We're talking as soon as the opener "Timpul Întâilor" which deftly swerves between ritualistic chanting, dramatic brutality and clean passages in seamless fashion. It's a powerful opener and a summary of what you can expect moving forward. Names such as Enslaved, Thy Catafalque and Primordial come to mind but only regarding certain aspects of their sound. Basically what this means is that I am finding trouble remembering what bands these guys remind me of and that honestly that makes me happy as this is an increasingly rare occurrence and definite proof Dordeduh are onto something special.

Take my favorite track "De Neam Vergur" and how well it plays with repetition. Yeah I know it's a generic sentence but the way it ebbs and flows always leaves me with a lasting smile. You know things are well when you don't notice the intro is almost five minutes long and things get even more interesting as we take a look at the rest of the pack.



One of Har's main strengths is its pacing and this is achieved by occasional interludes that provide respite after more elaborate tracks such as the aforementioned "De Neam Vergur". "Calea Magilor" is one of them and here the quartet focused on tribal-like ambiance and vocal interplay before expanding on that with "Vraci De Nord" that follows. Absolutely massive track that showcases each aspect of their sound in wonderful fashion. Deeply layered and reinforced with orchestral tinges, there's not a single dull moment to be found. And even though it's led by synths and percussions, guitars get some really memorable moments. The riff is simple but it plays a key role in providing tension before it dissolves but suddenly it re-emerges again and resets. This "yo-yo" effect let's call it only works if the foundations are strong and in case of Har, they almost always are. I say almost always because there are some slightly weaker songs but none that affected my enjoyment in a noticeable way. That's what we call good songwriting!



To follow up my attempts at breaking from the reviewing formula, I am obligated to NOT list all the other tracks and vaguely describe why I find them good. Definitely not doing that but seeing as I've been writing this thing on and off for weeks now, let's just say my mojo is depleted. Not that it matters because the underlying message of this mess is simple: Har is very good. Usually that's enough but I wish to address the absolute insanity that is the state of music in 2021. The fact I opted for revisits of this instead of checking out dozens of allegedly great records emphasizes the quality of Dordeduh and only time will tell if Har has the staying power. I have a sneaking suspicion it will but then again you never know.


All I can say is how glad I am this was my introduction to Romanian metal and I sincerely hope it becomes yours too! Ironically, it seems my lack of knowledge is saving me because I've seen complaints that the lyrical content presented is cringe-inducing and I am unsure if I should check that out or continue enjoying this as I have and remain confused and fascinated by their language. Certain words break through but for most of the time, I am blank but damn if it doesn't fit the mystical aura Dordeduh have conjured up so wonderfully.

And if I find myself in Romania like I plan to, you can be sure I'll be blasting this gem as I soak up the beautiful vistas that await, especially in the mountainous regions. Until then I'll be vicariously experiencing their internet, nature and culture by jumping in and out of this complete banger.

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page